My Community
November 28, 2014, 10:23:11 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: 6/29/2011 RakNet 4.022 released.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GetTime()  (Read 1775 times)
Rannion
Not-a-newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 25


View Profile
« on: December 13, 2006, 12:30:50 PM »

Is there a way to have in RakPeer a time which would be synchronized ?
Like I have a server and when a client connect to the server, it is automatically in sync with some time on the server.
Like this when the server says that client will start that action at time t, all the client knows excatly when they will have to start that action.

And if it's not existing at the moment, could it be implemented in the future ?
Report to moderator   Logged
Rak'kar
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 296
Posts: 6895



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2006, 01:15:10 PM »

It's there internally.  See the timestamping packets part of the documentation.
Report to moderator   Logged
Rannion
Not-a-newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 25


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2006, 05:37:32 AM »

Excuse me but looking at what's going on in ReplicaManager.cpp, I don't understand how your system is working.
First when we are in the update, just before the call to Serialize() you set sendTimestamp=false;
Also even if we change this to force it to send the timestamp, it is then sending currentTime, when the ping is it taken into account ?
Report to moderator   Logged
Rak'kar
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 296
Posts: 6895



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2006, 02:06:59 PM »

The recipient takes ping into account.
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.17 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!